Yesterday was pretty big day

1) First draft finished

I finished my first draft for a short story. Technically it was a second draft, but I don’t think of it that way, since I started over from scratch. This is the second time I’ve ever rebuilt a story from the ground up.

The obvious benefits of the rehash were that putting words to page was much faster and more coherent, allowing the whole thing to flow more naturally and the details to come out on their own.

All in all, the rewrite is much better, and actually worth editing. Assuming all goes well, there will be a completed version by the end of the month ready for submissions.

2) New assistant editor

I invited someone to assist me in the editorial work at Port Iris Magazine. More on that can be found at the here.

3)Reaching out

The busy part of the evening came because I suggested to someone that they fix an error on their website that looked small. Turns out, they’re not very proficient with web design and some site formatting was botched.

I felt a little bad, since I instigated the whole thing, so I offered my services to help fix it. The whole process took longer than expected because the site runs off of many different HTML pages. This setup works perfectly fine for relatively small, static sites. However, when the problem lies in the template used for each page and the template is inconsistent between pages, mass chaos ensues.

The page has been temporarily patched, but I think I’ve made a convert for WordPress.

Really, I didn’t mind doing the work; I want to see his magazine continue. I just wanted to post about the experience to share that there are ways to support your favorite sites and independent publishers other than giving money. If there is a way you think someone can improve, let them know. And if they’re doing something right, even better. Any feedback helps a ton.

“Unless he’s a real jerk or a cry baby, you’ll remain friends.” -Popular, Nada Surf

~Casey

 

~ by caseyseda on January 8, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
