Growing up

I’d assume it’s safe to say that all people to have reached even an early stage of adulthood have had those moments in which they halt and recognize that they reached a point they equate with growing up. Or ‘getting old.’ I’ve been comfortable with getting old, so little things about age generally don’t phase me. I’ve been getting white hairs since high school, and as long as I have a decent amount of them hanging on, they could all turn at once for all I care.

What can come more unsuspected, however, are the moments of realizing that one has matured as a professional. Today, I had the surreal experience of sitting down with a scientist who’s been doing work for longer than I’ve been alive, and I realized she’s looking to me as an equal for advice in a new line of research. Even more, she’d read the article on my first graduate research project. No matter what kind of work you publish, the feeling of finding out a complete stranger has read your work is exhilarating.

~ by caseyseda on March 8, 2011.

One Response to “Growing up”

  1. Congrats on such a great moment in your life!

Leave a Reply

 
