May so far

It’s the end of another semester, and the undergraduate students have started clearing out of town, leaving a quieter, more peaceful place to live and more parking for the rest of us. Likewise, for 3 wonderful months, the campus gym will be lacking the swarm of people that normally fill it to capacity during the reasonable hours of the school year. Since my lab is 5 miles off campus, access is much more convenient during the off-season.

Today marked the first time in months my friends and I have been able to take advantage of the rock wall on campus together in months. I was fully expecting to have a little difficulty with the climbing. However, a healthy dose of house/yard work and foregoing most sweets has contributed to me having to pull up 10 pounds less than last time I’d gone. My belayer (friend holding the rope and my life in his hands) even noticed I was lighter.

So today, like yesterday, has been filled with a few ups and downs. May will be too busy of a month to keep undulating this much.

I started the month in the wee hours before bed, with good news that my offer to work with another publisher was accepted for a test run. I’ll keep the details to myself until things are a little more final. I’ll be sure to post more information as the project develops.

I spent the daytime of Sunday in the creating our new hanging garden and planting our veggies for the year as well as other yard work. Pros to having a big yard: plenty of room to play with the dogs. Cons: more grass to deal with when it gets to the point that mowing every week and a half is required for decency’s sake. Portions of the yard easily grow 2 inches in height in this time.

The highlight of the weekend was learning that my research article was accepted for publication. This is the first paper of mine to be published in which I am the lead author, so I’m pretty stoked about the whole thing.

However, I can’t rightly talk about big news of yesterday without touching upon the news of the death of Osama bin Laden. I will keep most of my opinions on this news to myself for now except to say it was a surreal and somber moment, which certainly dampened my joy. I came across two quotes so far that adequately sum up my feelings towards the overwhelming response to the announcement.

‎”I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy. Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.” —Martin Luther King, Jr.

“I have told my sons that they are not under any circumstances to take part in massacres, and that the news of massacres of enemies is not to fill them with satisfaction or glee.”–Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.

I merely hope that those people that have been most affected by the events of a decade ago will have some sense of solace which they can use in the ongoing struggle to overcome what had happened.

In the light of such things, the worst thing that happened to me today—receiving a rejection letter for the post-doctorial lab position at a dream job—doesn’t seem too bad. I’ve decided that I can take the optimist’s view of things. Things are going pretty well, and I have another chance to rewrite the grant proposal for the lost position.

~ by caseyseda on May 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
