Joined a Writing Group

Although I now live in a much less rural area than where I grew up, finding fellow writers no less like-minded people to discuss speculative fiction in person is a little difficult. I could barely contain myself last week when I stumbled upon a brand new writing group that not only  would be meeting in the next town over but also focused in specfic.

The first meeting will be tonight, and even though we’ll only be talking over our goals and organization, I feel that I’m already meeting one of my personal goals. The excitement of presenting my work to new people and the accountability of needing more work done by a deadline have led to more words to page and series of brainstorms that have knocked me off my feet.

I’m really looking forward to a good experience.

For those of you not aware of  meetup.com, you can use it to search for local groups of all kinds of interests, and I’d been keeping an eye out there for a while, which worked for me.

~ by caseyseda on July 18, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
