Serendipitous discovery

One the things I have generally hated about handwriting my stories is keeping track of word count. When it comes to doing it, I easily lose thus making the practice more annoying than it’s worth. Today, I made a serendipitous discovery that I can kick myself for not noticing sooner. At work, I frequently use a hand-held tally counter to keep track of zooplankton populations (It sounds bad, and it’s actually much worse than you’d think.), and today it dawned on me that I could easily use one of these to record my word count. Better yet, I actually own one these at home though I’m not quite sure why. I’ll chock it up to the fact we tend to acquire nerdy things in our house.

So what’s with the sudden interest in this topic? Well, I’ve been in a writing slump lately but have been invigorated by my writing group meeting yesterday and switched to handwriting, which I do sometimes when I get stuck. Aside from critiques we discussed accountability and blogs. As is evident by the frequency of posts here, I do not hold my self accountable to the blog sometimes due to the time constraints of running Port Iris, research/work and writing the impending dissertation.

I’m not going to make an empty promise to post as much as possible, because I really don’t see that as a possibility until the January, when I–fingers crossed–will be done with school. However, I will make a valiant effort to post updates on progress of things. In line with the opening subject of this post, I am now diligently tracking my word count. I am setting a goal of >500 w/d and sticking to it. I haven’t decided on attributing my dissertation and journal article writing towards my daily goal yet. If so, I’ll bump up to account for that.

On the topic of my day job writing: my third journal publication, my first as the primary author, had its edits finalized and will be published later this year. Also coming this year is a text-book chapter I helped write.

With this post, I’m now at 936 words for day one.

~ by caseyseda on August 16, 2011.

2 Responses to “Serendipitous discovery”

  1. Great job Casey and keep it up!

  2. […] my last post I stated that I would start again with progress reports to create more of a sense of […]

Leave a Reply

 
